Performances in 2018

Winter Voices
Time: 15. December 2018, 5pm
Location: Kath. Kirche St. Valentin, Kirchenstraße 5, 66851 Bann

Poster
In its “Winter Voices” concert, the choir performed festive, merry and peaceful songs from Africa, Spain, Russia, France, the USA and Germany, as well as pieces by Mendelssohn, Lauridsen, Händel, Rachmaninov and others.

The following songs were part of our concert program:

  • Noel - Todd Smith, Arr. Brad Holmes
  • Richte mich, Gott - Felix Mendelssohn
  • Bogoroditse Dyevo - Sergei Rachmaninov
  • There Is No Rose - Gary Garcia
  • O Magnum Mysterium - Morten Lauridsen
  • Es wird ein Stern aus Jakob aufgehn’ - Felix Mendelssohn
  • Hallelujah, Amen - Georg Friedrich Händel
  • Siyahamba - Arr. Doreen Rao
  • Still, still, still - Arr. Norman Luboff
  • Il est ne le divin enfant - Arr. John Rutter
  • Ya Viene La Vieja - Arr. Audrey Snyder
  • White Christmas - Irving Berlin, Arr. Mac Huff
  • Throw The Yule Log On, Uncle John - P.D.Q. Bach
  • Stille Nacht - Franz Gruber

Rhearsal in Bann

At the dress rehearsal (Foto: Karin Hoffmann)

USAFE Band Christmas Concert
Time: December 14, 2018, 8pm
Location: Fruchthalle, Fruchthallstraße 10, 67655 Kaiserslautern
Fruchthalle

At the yearly Christmas Concert of the USAFE Band, the choir participated in several pieces of the program: Fanfare “Joy to the World (Arr.: Randol A. Bass, Shane Stanke), The Star (Mariah Carey, Marc Shaiman, Arr.: Shane Stanke), and Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee (Ludwig van Beethoven, Arr.: Shane Stanke), as well as a medley of German Christmas Carols.

A Celebration of Peace - In Commemoration of the End of WW1
Time: 04. Juli 2018
Location: Ely Cathedral, Cambridgeshire, England
Ely Cathedral

RPIC singers participated in the Great Britain Choral Festival 2018, which commemorated the end of World War 1 100 years earlier. The 300 voices of the festival choir came from across the United States and Europe and performed together with the East Anglia Chamber Orchestra. Conductors Stephen Cleobury (UK) and Craig Jessop (USA) led the performances of works by Ralph Vaughan Williams - Dona Nobis Pacem, Old Hundreth Psalm, Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis, Sancta Civitas and Five Variants on Dives and Lazarus. Let Peace then Still the Strife by Mack Wilberg was performed as well.

A Celebration of Peace
Time: June 9th, 2018, 7:30pm
Location: Martinskirche, Klosterstraße 1, Kaiserslautern
Time: June 10th, 2018, 5pm
Location: Ludwigskirche, Am Ludwigsplatz, 66111 Saarbrücken

Martinskirche
Participants
United States Air Forces in Europe (USAFE) Band
Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir
Soloists: Jasmine Connolly (Soprano) and Denver Murphy (Baritone)
Piano and Organ: Lothar Bendel
Directors: Dr. Craig Jessop, Dr. Justin W. Lewis

Together with the U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band, the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir commemorated the centennial of the end of World War 1 with concerts in Kaiserslautern and Saarbrücken. The center piece of the concert program was Ralph Vaughan Williams’ cantata Dona nobis pacem. Vaughan Williams produced his plea for peace in 1936 by referring to recent wars during the growing fears of a new one. His texts were taken from the Mass, three poems by Walt Whitman, a political speech, and sections of the Bible. In addition, the program included pieces by Max Reger, Claude Debussy and Gustav Mahler, among others. Details can be found in our program text.

The performances of the Dona nobis pacem were directed by Dr. Craig Jessop. Dr. Craig Jessop returned to Rheinland-Pfalz in June 2018 - 30 years after he first became the conductor of the U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band and the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir. It was a pleasure and honor for the choir to perform this work under his direction.

Konzerte in 2018

Winterstimmen
Zeit: 15. Dezember 2018, 17 Uhr
Ort: Kath. Kirche St. Valentin, Kirchenstraße 5, 66851 Bann

Poster
Unter dem Motto „Winterstimmen“ brachte der Chor weihnachtliche, fröhliche und besinnliche Lieder aus vielen Ländern, wie Afrika, Spanien, Russland, Frankreich, den Vereinigten Staaten und Deutschland, sowie Werke von Mendelssohn, Lauridsen, Händel, Rachmaninov und anderen zu Gehör.

Folgende Lieder waren in unserem Konzertprogramm enthalten:

  • Noel - Todd Smith, Arr. Brad Holmes
  • Richte mich, Gott - Felix Mendelssohn
  • Bogoroditse Dyevo - Sergei Rachmaninov
  • There Is No Rose - Gary Garcia
  • O Magnum Mysterium - Morten Lauridsen
  • Es wird ein Stern aus Jakob aufgehn’ - Felix Mendelssohn
  • Hallelujah, Amen - Georg Friedrich Händel
  • Siyahamba - Arr. Doreen Rao
  • Still, still, still - Arr. Norman Luboff
  • Il est ne le divin enfant - Arr. John Rutter
  • Ya Viene La Vieja - Arr. Audrey Snyder
  • White Christmas - Irving Berlin, Arr. Mac Huff
  • Throw The Yule Log On, Uncle John - P.D.Q. Bach
  • Stille Nacht - Franz Gruber

Probe in Bann

Bei der Generalprobe (Foto: Karin Hoffmann)

Weihnachtskonzert der USAFE-Band
Zeit: 14. Dezember 2018, 20 Uhr
Ort: Fruchthalle, Fruchthallstraße 10, 67655 Kaiserslautern
Fruchthalle

Beim jährlichen Weihnachtskonzert der USAFE-Band in der Fruchthalle wirkte der Chor bei einigen Liedern im Programm mit: Fanfare “Joy to the World (Arr.: Randol A. Bass, Shane Stanke), The Star (Mariah Carey, Marc Shaiman, Arr.: Shane Stanke), und Joyful, Joyful, We Adore Thee (Ludwig van Beethoven, Arr.: Shane Stanke), sowie ein Medley deutscher Weihnachtslieder.

A Celebration of Peace - In Commemoration of the End of WW1
Zeit: 04. Juli 2018
Ort: Ely Cathedral, Cambridgeshire, England
Ely Cathedral

Sängerinnen und Sänger des Chors nahmen am Great Britain Choral Festival 2018 teil, das in Gedenken an das Ende des 1. Weltkrieges vor 100 Jahren veranstaltet wurde. Der 300 Stimmen starke Festivalchor bestehend aus mehreren amerikanischen und europäischen Chören führte gemeinsam mit dem East Anglia Chamber Orchestra unter dem Dirigat von Stephen Cleobury (UK) und Craig Jessop (USA) Werke von Ralph Vaughan Williams auf - Dona Nobis Pacem, Old Hundreth Psalm, Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis, Sancta Civitas und Five Variants on Dives and Lazarus. Außerdem kam Let Peace then Still the Strife von Mack Wilberg zur Aufführung.

A Celebration of Peace - Eine Feier des Friedens
Zeit: 09. Juni 2018, 19:30 Uhr
Ort: Martinskirche, Klosterstraße 1, Kaiserslautern
Zeit: 10. Juni 2018, 17 Uhr
Ort: Ludwigskirche, Am Ludwigsplatz, 66111 Saarbrücken

Martinskirche
Mitwirkende
United States Air Forces in Europe (USAFE) Band
Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir
Solisten: Jasmine Connolly (Sopran) und Denver Murphy (Bariton)
Klavier und Orgel: Lothar Bendel
Dirigenten: Dr. Craig Jessop, Dr. Justin W. Lewis

Gemeinsam mit der U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band veranstaltete der Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir in Kaiserslautern (als Teil der Langen Nacht der Kultur) und in Saarbrücken Konzerte zum Gedenken an den 100. Jahrestag der Beendigung des 1. Weltkriegs. Im Zentrum des musikalischen Programms stand die Kantate Dona nobis pacem von Ralph Vaughan Williams. In seinem 1936 uraufgeführten Appell für den Frieden nahm Vaughan Williams Bezug auf vergangene Kriege in Zeiten der immer größer werdenden Angst vor einem neuen. Zusätzlich kamen u.a. Werke von Max Reger, Claude Debussy und Gustav Mahler zur Aufführung. Weitere Details sind in unserem Programmtext zu finden.

Die Aufführungen des Dona nobis pacem wurden von Dr. Craig Jessop dirigiert. Dr. Jessop kehrte im Juni 2018 nach Rheinland-Pfalz zurück - 30 Jahre nachdem er erstmals Dirigent der U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band und des Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir wurde. Es war eine große Freude und Ehre für den Chor, dieses Werk unter seinem Dirigat aufzuführen.