The Choir

The Choir

Originally founded in 1986 as the Ramstein Community Choir and renamed in 1988, our international choir has for a number of years united singers who share a passion for choir music and enjoy musical and cultural diversity. You can read about us in the magazine US BLICKWINKL. While this nice portrait is a little outdated, it still captures very well what this choir is about!

The RPIC is a registered non-profit association. As a member of the Kaiserslautern Choir Forum we support choral music in Kaiserslautern jointly with other concert and church choirs. We are a member choir of the Kreischorverbands NordwestPfalz e.V..

In its more than 30 years of choral history, the RPIC performed numerous major choral works. Among them were Händel’s „Messias“, Andrew Lloyd Webber’s „Requiem“, John Rutters’ „Requiem“, W.A. Mozart’s „Missa brevis in C-major (Spaur-Mass)“, Antonio Vivaldi’s „Gloria“ and Franz-Joseph Haydn’s „Missa in angustiis (Nelson Mass)“. With the latter piece, the choir also gave its debut performance at Carnegie Hall, New York in January 2017, alongside other international ensembles. The performance of Johannes Brahms’ “A German Requiem”, jointly with the Kaiserslautern University Classical Choir and the Kaiserslautern Symphony Orchestra (SOKL) was followed in 2018 by joint concerts with the United States Air Forces Europe Band in Kaiserslautern and Saarbrücken. The concerts featured the cantata “Dona Nobis Pacem” by Ralph Vaughan Williams with guest conductor Dr. Craig Jessop, who had directed the USAFE Band and the RPIC 30 years ago. The choir was also invited to perform this cantata and other works at the Great Britain Choral Festival at Ely Cathedral, Cambridgeshire in July 2018.

Musical Staff

Our conductor and musical director is Jennifer Hsiung. Our pianist Lothar Bendel accompanies us at our performances and during our rehearsals.

Der Chor

Der Chor

Ursprünglich als Ramstein Community Choir 1986 gegründet und 1988 umbenannt, vereint unser internationaler Chor nun schon seit vielen Jahren Sängerinnen und Sänger, denen die Begeisterung am Singen und das Interesse an musikalischer und kultureller Vielfalt gemeinsam ist. Der Artikel “Musik gewordene Internationalität” von Reiner Henn aus der Serie “Leuchttürme des Chorwesens” erschien bereits am 11. Dezember 2013 in der Rheinpfalz. Er beschreibt aber weiterhin korrekt, was diesen Chor wirklich aus macht.

Unser Chor ist ein eingetragener, gemeinnütziger Verein und engagiert sich als Mitglied des Chorforums Kaiserslautern gemeinsam mit anderen Chören und Kantoreien für die Chormusik in Kaiserslautern. Wir sind als Chor Mitglied des Kreischorverbands NordwestPfalz e.V. und gehören damit auch dem Chorverband der Pfalz im Deutschen Chorverband an.

Der RPIC führte in seiner mehr als 30-jährigen Geschichte eine Vielzahl von Chorwerken auf. Dazu gehören unter anderem Händels „Messias“, Andrew Lloyd Webbers „Requiem“, John Rutters „Requiem“, W.A. Mozarts „Missa brevis in C-Dur (Spaur-Messe)“, Antonio Vivaldis „Gloria“ und Franz-Joseph Haydns „Missa in angustiis (Nelsonmesse)“, mit welcher der Chor gemeinsam mit anderen internationalen Ensembles im Januar 2017 auch sein Debüt in der Carnegie Hall, New York feierte. Nach einer Aufführung des „Deutschen Requiems“ von Johannes Brahms, zusammen mit dem klassischen Chor der TU Kaiserslautern und dem SOKL, folgten zuletzt Konzerte in Kaiserslautern und Saarbrücken, bei denen der Chor gemeinsam mit der United States Air Forces Europe Band die Kantate „Dona nobis pacem“ von Ralph Vaughan Williams aufführte. Hier wirkte Dr. Craig Jessop, der die USAFE-Band und den RPIC 30 Jahre vorher geleitet hatte, als Gastdirigent mit. Der Chor wurde außerdem zur Mitwirkung bei der Aufführung dieser Kantante und weiterer Werke beim Great Britain Choral Festival im Juli 2018 in der Ely Cathedral, Cambridgeshire, eingeladen.

Musikalische Leitung

Der Chor wird von Jennifer Hsiung dirigiert und musikalisch geleitet. Unser Pianist Lothar Bendel begleitet uns bei Konzertauftritten und bei unseren Proben.