Our Music

In this section of our website you can find information, pictures and concert reviews since 2008. We perform songs of different musical styles, ranging from classical and church music to modern songs and musicals. Audio or video recorded at our concerts is available at Youtube for some of the songs (just search for “Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir”).

Upcoming Concerts

A Celebration of Peace
Time: June 9th, 2018, 7:30pm
Location: Martinskirche, Klosterstraße 1, Kaiserslautern
Time: June 10th, 2018, 5pm
Location: Ludwigskirche, Am Ludwigsplatz, 66111 Saarbrücken

Ralph Vaughan Williams

Ralph Vaughan Williams

Participants
U.S. Air Forces Europe Band
Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir
Soloists: Jasmine Connolly (Soprano) and Curtis Crafton (Baritone)
Piano and Organ: Lothar Bendel
Directors: Dr. Craig Jessop, Dr. Justin W. Lewis

Together with the U.S. Air Forces Europe Band and other guest ensembles, the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir will commemorate the centennial of the end of World War 1 with two international concerts. The center piece of the concert program will be Ralph Vaughan Williams’ cantata Dona nobis pacem. Vaughan Williams produced his plea for peace in 1936 by referring to recent wars during the growing fears of a new one. His texts were taken from the Mass, three poems by Walt Whitman, a political speech, and sections of the Bible. In addition to the concerts in Kaiserslautern and Saarbrücken, the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir has been invited to participate in a performance of the piece at the Britain Choral Festival in Ely Cathedral in England on July 4, 2018.

In the Kaiserslautern and Saarbrücken concerts, the performances of the Dona nobis pacem will be directed by Dr. Craig Jessop. Hailed by critics as one of America’s most gifted choral conductors, Dr. Craig Jessop will return to Rheinland-Pfalz in June 2018 - 30 years after he first became the conductor of the U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band and the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir. Jessop is Professor of Music and the founding Dean for the Caine College of the Arts at Utah State University. These appointments follow Dr. Jessop’s distinguished tenure as music director of the world famous Mormon Tabernacle Choir and Head of the Department of Music at Utah State. He is the founder and Music Director of the American Festival Chorus and Orchestra and has served as the music director of the Carnegie Hall National High School Choral Festival sponsored by the Weill Institute of Music at Carnegie Hall. Prior to his appointment with the Tabernacle Choir, Dr. Jessop was a Lieutenant Colonel in the U.S. Air Force music programs, where he served as director of the U.S. Air Force Singing Sergeants in Washington, D.C. (1980-1987), as commander and conductor of the Band of the U.S. Air Forces in Europe at Ramstein, Germany (1987-1991), and as commander and conductor of the Air Combat Command Heartland of America Band (1991-1995).

Unsere Musik

In diesem Bereich finden Sie Informationen, Bilder und Konzertbesprechungen der Rheinpfalz ab 2008. Unser Repertoire enthält Lieder aus verschiedenen musikalischen Stilrichtungen, von klassischen Liedern und Kirchenmusik bis zu modernen Liedern und Musicals. Audio- oder Videoaufnahmen aus unseren Konzerten stehen für einige der Stücke auf Youtube zur Verfügung (einfach nach “Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir” suchen).

Aktuelle Konzerttermine

A Celebration of Peace - Eine Feier des Friedens
Zeit: 09. Juni 2018, 19:30 Uhr
Ort: Martinskirche, Klosterstraße 1, Kaiserslautern
Zeit: 10. Juni 2018, 17 Uhr
Ort: Ludwigskirche, Am Ludwigsplatz, 66111 Saarbrücken

Ralph Vaughan Williams

Ralph Vaughan Williams

Mitwirkende
U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band
Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir
Solisten: Jasmine Connolly (Sopran) und Denver Murphy (Bariton)
Klavier und Orgel: Lothar Bendel
Dirigenten: Dr. Craig Jessop, Dr. Justin W. Lewis

Gemeinsam mit der U.S. Air Forces Europe Band und weiteren Gastensembles veranstaltet der Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir zwei internationale Konzerte zur Erinnerung an den 100. Jahrestag der Beendigung des 1. Weltkriegs. Im Zentrum des musikalischen Programms steht die Kantate Dona nobis pacem von Ralph Vaughan Williams. In seinem 1936 uraufgeführten Appell für den Frieden nahm Vaughan Williams Bezug auf vergangene Kriege in Zeiten der immer größer werdenden Angst vor einem neuen. Neben Konzerten in Kaiserslautern und Saarbrücken wirkt der Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir auf Einladung bei der Aufführung des Werks im Rahmen des Britain Choral Festivals in der Ely Cathedral in England am 4. Juli 2018 mit.

Die Aufführungen von Dona nobis pacem in Kaiserslautern und Saarbrücken werden von Dr. Craig Jessop dirigiert. Dr. Jessop, der von Kritikern als einer der begabtesten Chordirigenten gefeiert wird, kehrt im Juni 2018 nach Rheinland-Pfalz zurück - 30 Jahre nachdem er erstmals Dirigent der U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band und des Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir wurde. Craig Jessop ist Professor für Musik und Gründungsdekan des Caine College of the Arts der Utah State University. Diese Positionen folgten auf seine bedeutende Amtszeit als Dirigent und Leiter des weltberühmten Mormon Tabernacle Choir und als Leiter des Fachbereichs Musik der Utah State University. Er ist Gründer und Musikdirektor des American Festival Chorus and Orchestra und war als Musikdirektor des Carnegie Hall National High School Choral Festival tätig, das vom Weill Institute of Music der Carnegie Hall finanziell unterstützt wird. Vor seiner Tätigkeit beim Tabernacle Choir war Dr. Jessop ein Lieutenant Colonel des Musikprogramms der U.S. Air Force, wo er als Leiter der U.S. Air Force Singing Sergeants in Washington, D.C. (1980-1987), als Kommandant und Dirigent der Band der U.S. Air Forces in Europe in Ramstein, Germany (1987-1991) und als Kommandant und Dirigent der Air Combat Command Heartland of America Band (1991-1995) tätig war.

Das Konzert in Kaiserslautern ist Teil des Veranstaltungsangebots der Langen Nacht der Kultur. Der Eintritt ist jedoch auch ohne Eintrittsarmbändchen frei.