Welcome!

The Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir (RPIC) is based in Kaiserslautern. We are an international, mixed choir with a broad musical repertoire, ranging across a number of musical styles. Please look around to find out more about our music and performances (upcoming and past). Also, we are always looking for new singers to join us!

Rehearsals

We are on a hiatus until September 4th, 2018, when our rehearsals for our December concerts will start.

New choir director starting in August

After three years in the Palatinate area, our director, Dr. Justin W. Lewis, and his family are returning to the USA. The choir would like to thank him for many rehearsals full of inspiration, energy, patience and humor that prepared us so well for numerous, sometimes challenging performances and wishes him all the best and lots of success in his new/old home!

At the same time, we are looking forward to working with our new director, Jennifer Hsiung, to whom we hereby extend our warmest welcome!

A Celebration of Peace - July 4th, 2018

By invitation, the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir performed at the Great Britain Choral Festival at Ely Cathedral, Cambridgeshire, England as part of the festival chorus.

A Celebration of Peace - June 9th and 10th, 2018

Martinskirche
Participants
United States Air Forces in Europe (USAFE) Band
Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir
Soloists: Jasmine Connolly (Soprano) and Denver Murphy (Baritone)
Piano and Organ: Lothar Bendel
Directors: Dr. Craig Jessop, Dr. Justin W. Lewis

Together with the U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band, the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir commemorated the centennial of the end of World War 1 with concerts in Kaiserslautern and Saarbr├╝cken. The center piece of the concert program was Ralph Vaughan Williams’ cantata Dona nobis pacem. Vaughan Williams produced his plea for peace in 1936 by referring to recent wars during the growing fears of a new one. His texts were taken from the Mass, three poems by Walt Whitman, a political speech, and sections of the Bible. In addition, the program included pieces by Max Reger, Claude Debussy and Gustav Mahler, among others. Details can be found in our program text.

The performances of the Dona nobis pacem were directed by Dr. Craig Jessop. Dr. Craig Jessop returned to Rheinland-Pfalz in June 2018 - 30 years after he first became the conductor of the U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band and the Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir. It was a pleasure and honor for the choir to perform this work under his direction.

Willkommen!

Der Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir (RPIC) ist in Kaiserslautern zuhause. Wir sind ein internationaler gemischter Chor mit einem breit angelegten Repertoire, das eine Vielzahl musikalischer Stilrichtungen umfasst. Hier finden Sie Informationen zu unserer Musik und unseren Auftritten. Neue Sängerinnen und Sänger sind jederzeit willkommen!

Probenstart

Die Proben haben am 4. September wieder begonnen. Wir arbeiten an einem vielseitigen Programm für die Advents- und Weihnachtszeit.

Neue Chorleitung ab August

Nach drei Jahren in der Pfalz kehrt unser Chorleiter, Dr. Justin W. Lewis, mit seiner Familie nach USA zurück. Der Chor bedankt sich bei ihm für die vielen Proben voller Inspiration, Energie, Geduld und Humor, die uns gut vorbereitet und sicher in zahlreiche, z.T. herausfordernde Auftritte gehen ließen und wünscht ihm alles Gute und viel Erfolg in der neuen/alten Heimat!

Gleichzeitig freuen wir uns auf die Zusammenarbeit mit unserer neuen Chorleiterin, Jennifer Hsiung, und heißen sie hiermit herzlich willkommen!

A Celebration of Peace - 4. Juli 2018

Auf Einladung trat der Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir als Teil des Festivalchors beim Great Britain Choral Festival in der Ely Cathedral, Cambridgeshire, England auf.

A Celebration of Peace - Eine Feier des Friedens - 9. und 10 Juni 2018

Martinskirche
Mitwirkende
United States Air Forces in Europe (USAFE) Band
Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir
Solisten: Jasmine Connolly (Sopran) und Denver Murphy (Bariton)
Klavier und Orgel: Lothar Bendel
Dirigenten: Dr. Craig Jessop, Dr. Justin W. Lewis

Gemeinsam mit der U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band veranstaltete der Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir in Kaiserslautern (als Teil der Langen Nacht der Kultur) und in Saarbrücken Konzerte zum Gedenken an den 100. Jahrestag der Beendigung des 1. Weltkriegs. Im Zentrum des musikalischen Programms stand die Kantate Dona nobis pacem von Ralph Vaughan Williams. In seinem 1936 uraufgeführten Appell für den Frieden nahm Vaughan Williams Bezug auf vergangene Kriege in Zeiten der immer größer werdenden Angst vor einem neuen. Zusätzlich kamen u.a. Werke von Max Reger, Claude Debussy und Gustav Mahler zur Aufführung. Weitere Details sind in unserem Programmtext zu finden.

Die Aufführungen des Dona nobis pacem wurden von Dr. Craig Jessop dirigiert. Dr. Jessop kehrte im Juni 2018 nach Rheinland-Pfalz zurück - 30 Jahre nachdem er erstmals Dirigent der U.S. Air Forces in Europe Band und des Rheinland-Pfalz International Choir wurde. Es war eine große Freude und Ehre für den Chor, dieses Werk unter seinem Dirigat aufzuführen.